Don’t be afraid of doing things and going places by yourself!

@WhereHappinessBegins_ People Watching in Singapore

Does anybody else enjoy being by themselves over a quiet meal or coffee, and just people watch, or be with their thoughts?
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
I love eating, drinking (coffee/tea), shopping, running errands by myself. I love going to Chapters Indigo and spending the afternoon tucked away in a corner, or sitting at a communal table.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
In my life, people have often expressed how they could never do that, or prefer to be with others, or that being out alone makes them feel weird or self-conscious.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
While having welcomed company is wonderful, there is such benefit to learning to become comfortable with your self and your own thoughts, and learning to put your happiness over what you THINK people are thinking about you.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Trust me, no one’s looking. And if they are, they are either genuinely curious, or judgemental. Either way, what other people think of you, is none of your business – in this context, anyway!
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
🤔 I love observing others.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
☕️🍜 I love being able to savour a meal or beverage fully.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
🙋🏻‍♀️ I love being able to say where I want to go, and how long I choose to be there for.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
💭💫 What a wonderful opportunity it is for ideas and questions to spark and grow.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
🧘🏻‍♀️ I love practicing being present, in my body, and noticing my thoughts.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
🌞 I love being able to bask in the luxury of “nowhere to be but here and now”, and in the spaciousness of time that is 100% mine.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Spending these moments alone makes me have to be CLEAR on, “What IS it that I want right now?? What do I want to do, now that I have ALL the say?”
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
This weekend, carve some time out to be by yourself. You know all those places you’ve been wanting to go to, or things you’ve been wanting to do/see that no one else seems to be interested in, or interested in ENOUGH to go? Take yourself!
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
To that restaurant or coffee shop. To that “Instagram-worthy” place. To that movie, concert, event, exhibition, class, workshop, seminar! To the store. To the beach. Go on a long walk. Life is too short to have our actions dictated by what others are willing or not willing to accompany us for.

🌻 #WhereHappinessBegins
@WhereHappinessBegins_

Leave a comment